Parents and Families

August 2016 calendar icon

Academic Calendar:

Summer Term
Tuesday, August 16 | Summer Half Term Classes End (5:00pm)
Wednesday, August 17 | Study Day
Thursday - Friday, August 18 - 19 | Summer Half Term Examinations

Fall Term
Wednesday, August 31 | Fall Term Tuition Due
Wednesday - Friday,  August 31 - September 2 | Fall Term Residence Hall Move-In
Tuesday, September 6 | Fall Term Classes Begin
Monday - Tuesday, October 17-18 | Fall Study Break

 

We hope you'll encourage your student to attend U-M's 2016 Welcome Week Events:

Thursday, September 1

Friday, September 2  

Saturday, September 3

Sunday, September  4

  • Rec Sports Expo, 11:00am - 2:00pm, Palmer Field,
  • Party for Your Mind, 4pm - 6pm, Shapiro Library Open House
  • Taste of Michigan, 6:00pm - 8:00pm, Palmer Field
  • Meijer "Back to College" Event, 9:00pm - 1:00am, Ann Arbor-Saline Rd. Meijer

Monday, September 5

  • Northfest, 11am - 2pm, Bonisteel Blvd. and Adjacent Lawn, North Campus
  • Resident Hall Association Pre-Class Bash, 5pm - 8pm, Palmer Field

Tuesday, September 6

Wednesday September 7

Thursday, September 8

Friday, September 9

More Welcome Week events can be found on the Parents website and on the Happening @ Michigan Events Calendar.

Other Dates and Deadlines

  • AlcoholEdu for College & Haven - Understanding Sexual Assault (required courses for new students): Courses opened the week of August 8 — part 1 must be completed by September 6.
  • Meal plan changes will be allowed the two weeks before the start of class through Sept 20. Upgrades are allowed throughout the school year.
  • Tuition Insurance purchase deadline: September 10, 2016
  • Parents Weekend: Register September 21-30, 2016 for Parents Weekend November 4-6
  • The football schedule is available on the MGoBlue website. 
  • Religious holidays can be found on the Office of the Provost website

 

To help Student Life continue making a difference in students' lives, please consider making a gift.