Parents and Families

Summer 2014 calendar

Academic Calendar:

  • Tuesday, August 12: Summer Classes End
  • Wednesday, August 13: Study Day
  • Thursday & Friday, August 14 & 15: Summer Examinations
  • Friday, August 15: Summer Half Term ends
  • Thursday & Friday, August 28 & 29: Student Move-In
  • Monday, September 1: Labor Day
  • Monday, September 1: Last day to disenroll or process initial registration without late fee
  • Tuesday, September 2: Fall Classes Begin
  • Monday, September 22: Drop/Add Deadline for full term classes
  • Monday & Tuesday, October 13 & 14: Fall Study Break
  • Wednesday, November 26 (5pm) Thanksgiving Recess begins

*Students enrolling in Business, Dentistry, Law, Medicine, and Social Work should check with their respective schools for academic calendar information, including registration.

*Full academic calendar

Move In 

  • Thursday August 28 - Friday August 29
    Fall Move-In for undergraduate students. Check-in is open from 7 am - 10 pm on Thursday and from 8am - 5pm on Friday.
  • Wednesday, September 10 - Thursday, September 11
    Fall Term Wait list Sign-up

 

Welcome Week

Friday, August 29

Saturday, August 30

  • Afternoon Home Football Game vs. Appalachian State, 12pm 
  • UMix Late Night, Ingalls Mall, 7:30pm - 12am

Sunday, August 31

Monday, September 1

  • Gays Craze, Palmer Field, 1pm-4pm
  • Pre-Class Bash, Palmer Field

Tuesday, September 2

  • Classes Begin

Thursday, September

Friday, September 5

Saturday, September 6

Tuesday, September  9

Thursday, September  11

The “Program Highlights” are large-scale “anchor events” that are intended to include all new students, and all new students are strongly encouraged to attend. All other events are sponsored by student organizations, University departments or other community agencies. 

Please contact the Office of New Student Programs at (734) 764-6413 or email welcome@umich.edu if you have any questions. Additional Welcome Week events can be found on UM Events.

 

Other 

 

Any day is a good day to send a Carepackage

As you send your student off, be sure to remember that no matter how far away you are you can still show you are thinking about them! Carepackages are perfect for Welcome Week, birthdays, finals, good luck, get well or just to surprise your student from afar

 

To help Student Life continue making a difference in students’ lives, please consider making a gift.